Rutgers University-Newark Debate Wins Navy Junior Varsity Championship Two Years in a Row


The annual Crowe Warken debate hosted at the prestigious United States Naval Academy in the capital of Annapolis, Maryland represents the first regional competition in the northeast for the 2016 semester of competitive policy debate. The Crowe Warken debate’s prestige is met with some incredible competitors that include Wake Forest University, Emory, Missouri State, Georgia State, Cornell, Liberty University, Kentucky University, James Madison University and George Mason University among the 20+ programs. The Rutgers University-Newark Debate Team traveled to Annapolis with 10 debaters including the novice (beginner) team of Romina Gimenez (Junior of College of Arts and Science) and Micheal Kelly (Junior of College of Arts and Science) in their first debate competition.

The roster of debaters included the team of Hannah Stafford and Luis Carrera, Chaz Wyche and Jaye Ross, and Kevon Haughton and Christian Quiroz all competing in the open division of the tournament. The team of Kevon and Christian, after winning 6 of their 8 preliminary debates, became the 6th seed of the tournament getting the opportunity to go straight into the octo-final round where they lost a close debate to the team from Gonzaga University. The team of Hannah and Luis would also make it to octo-finals after receiving a 5-3 record during preliminary debates. Hannah was award as the 6th best speaker overall. The team of Stafford and Carrera ranked 9th team overall lost another close debate to the team from Georgia State. Former JV champion of the Crowe Warken debates Jaye Ross and partner Chaz Wyche were able to impressively win 4 out of the 8 preliminary rounds in the Open division.

The team of Adegoke Fakorede and Andres Monclut competed in the junior varsity division at the tournament and won 5 of their 8 preliminary debates, ranking as the 4th place team before elimination rounds. Both debaters received speaker awards with Adegoke receiving 4th place speaker and Andres receiving the top speaker award. Andres and Adegoke made it all the way to the final round against Cornell University and were crowned champions of the JV division. This is the second year in a row that Rutgers University-Newark won junior varsity division at Navy.

Rutgers University-Newark Coach Willie Johnson was awarded the Frank Harrison Award for Excellence in Coaching for the teams’ outstanding accomplishment in the junior varsity division.             

Copyright © 2018, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey. All rights reserved.