Rutgers University-Newark Honored with Two Invites to Marie Hochmuth Round Robin at the University of Pittsburg


The Rutgers University-Newark Debate Team started off 2016 with two invites to the prestigious Marie Hochmuth Round Robin at the University of Pittsburg, to be held January 22-26, 2016. Only sixteen of the top debate partnerships in the country are invited to attend. The debate team made history by securing two slots to its second major round robin. This is only the third time that Rutgers debate has been honored to join a prestigious, invite-only round robin and the first time the debate team has been invited to two such tournaments in a single season. The teams of Devane Murphy and Nicole Nave, and Kevon Haughton and Christian Quiroz have received invitations to the tournament. The Rutgers teams will compete against some of the top debate schools in the nation such as Wake Forest University; Emory; Northwestern; Georgetown; University of Texas: Austin; Kentucky; Baylor; The West Point Academy; University of California: Berkeley; University of Vermont; and West Georgia State University. These programs represent some of the most successful and strongest programs in the nation and being invited demonstrates that Rutgers is competing at the top level of collegiate debate. 

Copyright © 2018, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey. All rights reserved.