Skip navigation Jump to navigation

Announcing the 2018 SPAA Award Winners

On behalf of the Dean, Faculty, and Staff of the School of Public Affairs and Administration we are pleased to announce the winners of the 2018 SPAA Awards!

The inaugural awards recognize our graduates, alumni, faculty, and staff who embody the values of SPAA and a commitment to public service. Each of the winners will be recognized at the Graduation Celebration on Friday, May 11, 2018. Please join us in congratulating this year's award winners:

  • Outstanding BA Student: Mohamed Abdelghany (BA’18)
  • Outstanding MPA Student: Rabia Arikan (MPA’18)
  • Outstanding PhD Student: Dr. Andrew Ballard (PhD’18)
  • E. Drexel Godfrey Award: Bernadette Carter (MPA’18) and Anqiang Li (MPA’18)
  • Distinguished Alumni Award for Academic Excellence: Dr. Kaifeng Yang (PhD’03)
  • Distinguished Alumni Award for Practitioner Excellence: Virgil Simons (MPA’08)
  • Faculty Teaching Award: Dr. Rachel Emas, Assistant Teaching Professor
  • Faculty Service Award: Dr. Madinah Hamidullah, Associate Research Professor
  • Staff Award: Dr. Melissa Rivera, Associate Dean for Finance and Administration