Skip navigation Jump to navigation

SPAA Alumni Highlights: Academic Year 2023-2024

  • RaJade Berry-James (PhD'99) was inaugurated as the president of the Network of Schools of Public Policy, Affairs, and Administration (NASPAA) for the 2023-24 term.
  • Hanjin Mao (MPA'15, PhD'22) received the Academy of Management (AOM) Public and Nonprofit (PNP) Division 2023 Best Dissertation Award for her work, "The Financial Benefits of Information Technology Adoption in Nonprofit Organizations."
  • Roberto Muñiz (MPA'90) was installed as the next board chair of the LeadingAge organization.
  • Sara Pena (MPA'14) was inducted as a Servant Leader Exemplar by the Greenleaf Center for Servant Leadership at Seton Hall University.
  • Anthony Trotta (PhD'06) published Technology and American Democracy, his second book with the Routledge/Taylor & Francis Group. It examines the capacity of IT to facilitate deliberative democracy, alter modern bureaucratic structures and functions, and affect areas of public policy including public budgeting and performance measurement. This follows his first book with the publisher in 2017 titled Advances in E-Governance: Theory and Application of Technological Initiatives (part of the distinguished American Society for Public Administration series in Public Administration and Public Policy). 
  • Shilpa Viswanath (PhD'19) received the 2023 Riccucci-O’Leary Award from the Public Management Research Association (PMRA) for the article, “Gender Ramifications of a Weberian Bureaucracy: A Feminist Appraisal of the United States Department of Agriculture,” (with Aritree Samanta) in Perspectives on Public Management and Governance (PPMG)The Riccucci-O’Leary Award is given annually for the best article on diversity, broadly defined, published in the Journal of Public Administration Research (JPART) or PPMG.